Mauro Giuliani – Guitar solos opp. 2 to 12 (The Complete Works, Volume 2)


Mauro Giuliani’s Complete Works, Volume 2 (Tecla facsimile edition) contains works which Giuliani composed from about 1807 to 1810, when, as a brilliant young player and composer, he quickly achieved fame in Vienna.  Guitar solos, opp. 2-12. With an introduction by Brian Jeffery

96 pages.  First published by Tecla in 1984, reprinted in 1993.

This Volume 2 of Giuliani’s Complete Works, together with Volume 3, contains the earliest works for guitar solo which Giuliani published in Vienna, from 1807 to 1810, in reprints of the first editions. Opus 2 is his earliest known work, first published in 1807, while the others followed, though not in strict order of opus number. Many works in Volumes 2 and 3 have detailed dynamic indications which tell us much about the style of performance which the composer must have had in mind. As well as that, they are all works of quality and interest; in Volume 2 perhaps one may single out the lively and interesting Rondo op. 5, and the Caprice op.11. The detailed contents of Volume 2 are:

  • Op. 2: Six Variations.
  • Op. 3: Three Rondos.
  • Op. 4: Six Variations on “Nel cor più non mi sento”.
  • Op. 5: New Rondo in imitation of the sound of the bells of Bologna (allegro vivace).
  • Op. 6: Eight Variations.
  • Op. 7: Six Variations on a theme from the ballet “Die feindlichen Volksstämme”.
  • Op. 8: Three Rondos.
  • Op. 9: Six Variations (a fine expressive work, in which Variation 6 is in the form of a polonaise).
  • Op. 10: Amusements.
  • Op. 11: Caprice (another fine work, allegro vivace, similar in some ways to the well-known Sonata opus 15, which despite its higher opus number had in fact been published earlier, in 1808).
  • Op. 12: Twelve Monferrine.
[Legibility of Volume 2: parts of op. 2 are rather faint, but the other works are clear.]

More about Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829)

Tecla home page.

Copyright 2003 by Tecla Editions. Errors and omissions excepted.


Weight330 g