Onorato Costa – Souvenir d’Orient for flute and guitar, as a printed item


This page is for Costa: Souvenir d’Orient as a printed item to be shipped to you worldwide. Or you can receive it as a digital download. The printed item is very nice, but digital is cheaper and much kinder to the planet!

Before you order this printed item, be sure to read Shipping Dates!!

Onorato Costa’s Souvenir d’Orient ou Fantaisie Brillante, op. 12 for flute and guitar is an extended early nineteenth century piece, fine and exuberant, historically extremely interesting, incorporating as it does in a remarkable way elements of Greek popular music of the time.

Edited by Brian Jeffery. New re-engraved edition (not facsimile), with an extensive preface.  Score with separate flute part, 20 + 8 pages.  First published by Tecla in 1983.

A count of this title shows that we have only a few copies left of the printed edition, and it is now an antiquity.  In my opinion (BJ) this is a very unusual and interesting item.  That is why the new price of the printed edition now is a bit higher than it might otherwise have been.

This is a remarkable and attractive work, challenging from the technical point of view. Anyone seeking new repertory for flute and guitar is recommended to try this.

It incorporates elements of Greek popular music of the time. One section is “Romance grecque. Ilios Lambros, Soleil Lumineux”, and another is “Sirtos, Danse grecque nationale”. An interesting example of the enthusiasm for Greece at this period of the struggle for Greek independence.

I’m sorry to say that because of damp in a warehouse in the past, all our copies of the printed edition have some rust on their staples (not very much, but it is there).  Please be aware of this when you order.  Of course remember that the music is fine and it’s a very good piece with (I hope) a good introduction . . .

Read the complete introduction

Tecla home page.

Copyright 2003 by Tecla Editions. Errors and omissions excepted.


Weight115 g

Digital download (pdf), Paperbound


ISBN 978-0-906953-39-6