Fernando Sor – Voyons si c’est ça op. 45 for solo guitar


This is a digital download (pdf).

Sor’s Voyons si c’est ça op. 45 was first published in Paris in about 1831. It consists of six short pieces, which are as follows:

  1. Andantino
  2. Allegretto
  3. Theme and variations
  4. Waltz
  5. Andante
  6. [no title or tempo]

The title means “Let’s see if this is it” and is discussed in the notes to op. 48 in this edition.

The Andante, no. 5 in this collection, is FREE TO EVERYBODY. It was published by Isaias Savio in his anthology of works by Sor published by Ricordi in Buenos Aires, and was the first work by Sor which I played.

This edition comes from the new 2020 second edition of Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar edited by Brian Jeffery. The Introduction and Index to the entire series can be seen here on this site.