Fernando Sor – Six petites pièces op. 5 for solo guitar


This is a digital download (pdf).

Sor’s Six petites pièces [op. 5] is another set of six charming pieces first published in Paris in 1814. They are:

  1. Minuet
  2. Waltz
  3. Minuet
  4. Allegro
  5. Andante largo
  6. [Waltz]

Sor had just arrived in Paris from Spain in the year before, 1813. The set is dedicated to Sor’s wife who was with Sor in Paris at that time.

The set includes the famous “Andante largo”. Andante at that period meant “keep the tempo steady” and did not necessarily mean slow as it often does today, so this Andante largo should not be played too slowly. “Largo, with a steady pace” would be a good interpretation. This Andante largo is a FREE TO EVERYBODY piece. The other pieces in these Six petites pièces are well worth playing.

You can hear the Andante largo played by the famous Argentinian guitarist María Luisa Anido here.

This edition comes from the new 2020 second edition of Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar edited by Brian Jeffery. The Introduction and Index to the entire series can be seen here on this site.