Fernando Sor – Six Divertimentos op. 8 for solo guitar


This is a digital download (pdf).

Sor’s Six Divertimentos [op. 8] are a set of six short pieces first published in London in 1818-19. They are:

  1. Minuet
  2. Waltz
  3. Andantino
  4. Allegretto scherzoso
  5. March
  6. Waltz

The Minuet no. 1, and the Waltz no. 2, are FREE TO EVERYBODY pieces.

It is evident that the set has been planned as a whole, with contrast of keys and of tempi, and therefore performance as a whole is recommended. The interesting and very carefully marked dynamic contrasts in no. 5, a march, doubtless parallel similar dynamic contrasts in the military music of the time, so you might wish to play the piece observing those dynamic contrasts.

This edition comes from the new 2020 second edition of Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar edited by Brian Jeffery. The Introduction and Index to the entire series can be seen here on this site.