Fernando Sor – Six Divertimentos op. 2 for solo guitar


This is a digital download (pdf).

Sor’s Six Divertimentos for the Spanish Guitar [op. 2] were first published in London in about 1815-19. They are six short and charming pieces evidently designed as a whole. They are:

  1. Minuet
  2. Waltz
  3. Andantino
  4. Minuet
  5. Waltz
  6. Siciliana

Performers would do well to treat the set as a whole and to perform it complete.

Sor dedicated the set to his friend Emanuel Palacio Fajardo who was a South American from what is now Venezuela. A trained lawyer and doctor of medicine and an emissary of Simón Bolívar, he was in Europe to obtain guns and money for the liberation movements against Spain, and he returned to Venezuela in 1818. He and Sor could have met either in Paris or in London.


This edition comes from the new 2020 second edition of Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar edited by Brian Jeffery. The Introduction and Index to the entire series can be seen here on this site.