Fernando Sor – Huit petites pièces op. 24 for solo guitar


This is a digital download (pdf).

Sor’s Huit petites pièces op. 24 consist of a number of short pieces first published in Paris in 1827. They are:

  1. Minuet
  2. Minuet
  3. Allegretto
  4. Minuet
  5. Minuet
  6. Minuet
  7. Allegretto
  8. Minuet

As can be seen, six of the pieces are minuets. The fact that six of the eight pieces have the somewhat archaic scordatura of the sixth string to F, as well as their style, suggests that these pieces are likely to date from Sor’s Spanish period.


This edition comes from the new 2020 second edition of Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar edited by Brian Jeffery. The Introduction and Index to the entire series can be seen here on this site.