We are reorganizing our distribution and for a time products from this site will not be available. Meanwhile you can get printed Tecla items from Strings by Mail at stringsbymail.com. Thank you for your patience and apologies for any inconvenience.

Fernando Sor – Est-ce bien ça? op. 48 for solo guitar, as a digital download (pdf)


This is a digital download (pdf).

Sor’s Est-ce bien ça op. 48 was first published in Paris in about 1832. It consists of six short pieces which are as follows:

  1. March
  2. Waltz
  3. Minuet with variations
  4. Waltz
  5. [no title or tempo indication]
  6. Rondeau

The title means “Is this it?”. The work has to be understood in the context of a certain polemic, which I explore in the complete preface included in this file.


This edition comes from the new 2020 second edition of Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar edited by Brian Jeffery. The Introduction and Index to the entire series can be seen here on this site.