Fernando Sor – The New Complete Works for Guitar Solo and Guitar Duet, edited by Brian Jeffery, set of eleven volumes


This set of eleven volumes is designed to be the standard modern edition of Sor’s guitar music. Currently we can supply the complete set only in its paperbound version, although we have clothbound copies of some of the individual volumes as listed under each volume below.

Now available online in nkoda.


Out of stock

Fernando Sor’s New Complete Works for Guitar in eleven volumes is the Tecla re-engraved edition, edited by Brian Jeffery.  It is designed to be the standard modern edition of Sor’s guitar music.  There are full historical and bibliographical notes, and the edition is fully practical for performance.  It was I (Brian Jeffery) who first established the full catalogue of all Sor’s guitar compositions. The complete set of eleven volumes has exactly 1000 pages. Read the introduction.

The complete set of eleven volumes consists of:

Volume 1: guitar solos op. nos. 1 through 9
Volume 2: guitar solos op. nos. 10 through 16 and works without opus number
Volume 3: guitar solos op. nos. 17 through 25
Volume 4: guitar solos op. nos. 26 through 32
Volume 5: guitar solos op. nos. 33 through 43
Volume 6: guitar solos op. nos. 44 through 52
Volume 7: guitar solos op. nos. 54 through 60 and appendix: Meditación
Volume 8: seven guitar duets in score, op. nos. 34 to 53
Volume 9: six guitar duets in score, op. nos. 54 bis to 63 and the Bolero a Duo
Volume 10: the Guitar 1 parts for all of the thirteen duets
Volume 11: the Guitar 2 parts for all of the thirteen duets

If you wish, you can order only the guitar duets in score (volumes 8-9 only), or only the guitar duets as parts only, no score (volumes 10-11 only).

Read the complete introduction to the new edition, and editorial practice, taken from Volume 1.

The Sor home page

Fernando Sor biography

Fernando Sor life and music (a longer biography) 

Tecla home page.

Copyright 2003 by Tecla Editions. Errors and omissions excepted.


“I’ve received my order!!!! It’s the best collection that I’ve seen!!!! The quality is incredible!!!” (a customer in Brazil, writing about the New Complete Works for Guitar of Sor)

JUNE 2004: “This is a new contribution by Brian Jeffery . . . Most interesting in this work are Jeffery’s “Notes on the Pieces” at the beginning of each volume. These notes contain such information as publication history, background, and major editorial concerns. This really provides a wealth of information for the player of these works. This is a beautifully produced work. The paper and covers are of very high quality, and the volumes stay open easily on the stand. These books are a pleasure to work with. This new edition of Sor is excellent.” (Soundboard, 2004).

“This work [Volume 1] is highly recommended, and I anxiously await the publication of the remaining volumes” (Classical Guitar).

“… ai bellissime lavori di Sor per due chitarre … una nuova versione … redatta in partitura nel massimo rispetto della stesura originale di Sor. … corpose e interessantissime introduzioni ai due volumi … L’impaginazione e la stampa assolutamente pregevolissime” (Il Fronimo)              MORE REVIEWS

Hear the Cantabile from Sor’s duet for two guitars L’Encouragement op. 34, played by Lars Hedelius-Strikkertsen and Ruben Ipsen – it’s entertaining as well as musical.  (This duet L’Encouragement, by the way, is in volumes 8 to 11 of this Tecla New Complete Works for Guitar of Sor.)



Weight 3900 g
Dimensions 31 × 23 × 10 cm