Federico Moretti – Doce Canciones for voice and guitar, edited by Brian Jeffery, as a digital download


This page is for Moretti: Doce canciones as a digital download (pdf, ebook). Or you can receive it as a printed book to be shipped to you worldwide. The printed book is very nice, but digital is cheaper and much kinder to the planet!


This is a new re-engraved edition of Federico Moretti’s Doce Canciones which are twelve love-songs loosely arranged in the form of a song-cycle, all of them with similar accompaniments, an instrumental introduction and ending, a carefully worked-out musical form, and a close attention to detail. Their composer, Federico Moretti, was an Italian born in Naples in 1769 who came to Spain in 1794, became an officer in the Spanish army and rose to the rank of field-marshal (mariscal de campo).  He combined throughout his life a military career with a love of music and in particular of singing and the guitar.  He had an influence on his younger contemporary Fernando Sor who dedicated to him at least one of his own works.

This may be the world’s first song-cycle with guitar.

I published Moretti’s Doce Canciones in 1978 as a facsimile of the original London edition of about 1811, but here now is a new edition, this time modern and re-engraved, with a new introduction. (Please note: this edition has guitar accompaniment only; the alternative piano accompaniment which was in the original edition is not included here.)

56 pages.  Large music size 24 x 31 cm.  A handsome new edition on high quality paper, paperbound.  Paperbound and ebook only.

This edition is uniform with two other new publications of Tecla Editions: Ferandiere’s book Arte de tocar la guitarra española (Madrid, 1799), and the first modern edition of Ferandiere’s Seis Dúos for two guitars (by the way, you can hear two of those six duos played on Soundcloud).

Printed by Artes Gráficas Soler in Valencia Spain, a printer specializing in fine printing for over a hundred years. (They also printed, by the way, the first Tecla Editions book back in 1971.)

You can hear the first of the Doce Canciones, Tirana “Si te veo, si te hablo”, arranged in very lively fashion for two singers and a group of instruments by the group Axivil Goyesco. (Forget the picture which as far as I know doesn’t have any authenticity!)

Here is that same song “Si te veo, si te hablo” sung by Hezy Levy accompanying himself on the guitar.

Here are the words of that song:


Si te veo, si te hablo,
Si te miro, si te escucho,
Siempre digo: he de dejarte
Y siempre te quiero mucho.
Fuerte cosa es para un corazón
El querer a una hermosa mujer:
El quererla y no dejarla ver
Hasta dónde llega una pasión.
De este modo callando me muero
Aunque el pecho sea brasa de amor.
¡Ay ay ay, de mi corazón!
¡Ay ay ay ay ay ay qué dolor!

Un imposible me mata,
Por un imposible muero,
Imposible es conseguir
El imposible que quiero.
Fuerte cosa, &c.

Tengo de morir callando,
Pues por imposible veo
Que de mujer tan hermosa
Pueda ser yo solo el dueño.
Fuerte cosa, &c.

Whenever I see you, talk to you, look at you, listen to you, I always tell myself that I should leave you, but I still love you very
much. The heart suffers in loving a beautiful woman; in loving her but not letting her see how far passion can reach. And so I am dying in silence, even though my breast is burning with love. Oh, my heart! Oh, what pain!
An impossible thing is killing me, I am dying for something impossible, itis impossible to attain the impossible thing which I want.

The heart suffers, &c.

I have to die in silence, since I see that it is impossible for me to be the sole possessor of so beautiful a woman.

The heart suffers, &c.

Here is the list of the twelve songs:

No. 1 La Irresolución: “Si te veo, si te hablo”
No. 2 La Reflexión: “El amor que oculto vive”
No. 3 La Insinuación: “Desde el instante, niña, que vi”
No. 4 La Explicación: “Yo las falacias no sé de amor”
No. 5 La Curiosidad: “La sombra de la noche”
No. 6 La Posesión: “Ayer tarde por flores”
No. 7 El Descuido: “Yo me estaba quietecita”
No. 8 La Ausencia: “Acuérdate, bien mío”
No. 9 El Desengaño: “Muchas veces una niña”
No. 10 Consejo al Bello Sexo: “Alerta muchachas”
No. 11 El Consejo: “Aquel que vivir quiera”
No. 12 La Libertad: “De amor la pasión activa”


eBook, Paperbound