Francis Cutting – Five lute pieces arranged for guitar by Brian Jeffery, as a digital download (pdf)


This is a digital download (pdf).

Francis Cutting’s five pieces were originally composed for the lute, and have here been transcribed for the guitar by Brian Jeffery from the original tablature. The collection was previously published by Oxford University Press and has now been assigned to Tecla Editions.

TECLA 0792.


  • Galliard
  • Cutting’s Comfort
  • Alman
  • Pavane Sans Pair
  • Galliard

These five pieces have been chosen from the many lute solos by the Elizabethan composer Francis Cutting. We know very little about him, and he probably lived and worked outside London, but his elegant and expressive music speaks for itself. More of it may be found in Martin Long’s edition: Francis Cutting, Selected Works for Lute (Oxford University Press, 1969).

This collection is one of a series of seven titles of lute music arranged for guitar by Brian Jeffery.

Tecla main page.

Copyright 2008 by Tecla Editions. Errors and omissions excepted.