Mauro Giuliani – Dances of 1810 for Guitar, edited by Brian Jeffery, as a digital download (pdf)


This page is for Giuliani: Dances of 1810 as a digital download (pdf, ebook). Or you can receive it as a printed book, paperbound, to be shipped to you worldwide. Or you can receive it as a printed book, clothbound, to be shipped to you worldwide. The printed book is very nice, but digital is cheaper and much kinder to the planet! June 2020: for this book in new sharper pdfs, click here.

Giuliani’s Dances of 1810 gathers together the catchy and easy to play dances that Giuliani composed for beginners when he was a young guitar virtuoso newly arrived in Vienna in 1810. They are catchy and many of them are really easy, not in the boring way that is usual today where the poor beginner is told to stay way down at that first position where the frets are far apart which is more difficult than higher up, but with the totally different concept of quite often putting the beginner’s fingers high up, around the ninth, tenth, twelfth fret, where the frets are closer together and therefore easier to finger. He added lots of open strings in the bass. And he gave his students the hot-from-the-dance-floor dances that they had danced till 2 a.m. the night before.

Don’t be afraid to go high up on the fingerboard! It was Giuliani’s own idea for beginners.  And try playing them fast. “Schneller! Schneller!” the young people called from the dance floor in that Vienna that was crazy about dancing.

This is a completely new edition, re-engraved, of Giuliani’s sets of dances opp. 12, 21, 23, 24 and 33, complete.  Newly edited by Brian Jeffery direct from the original editions.  No fingering has been added.

TECLA 0395 (paperbound), TECLA 0396 (clothbound). 36 pages, 62 pieces in all.

Rob MacKillop has made a video of four of Giuliani’s Monferrine dances, from this book.

Read the complete Preface to this book.


“Giuliani, Mauro: Dances of 1810. Five sets of lively dances from Vienna for guitar, most of them easy. Londres: Tecla Editions, 2006, 23 x 30,5 cm, 27 págs.
He aquí sesenta y dos danzas para guitarra, agrupadas en cinco tipos (doce monferrinas, doce valses, etc.), la mayoría de ellas sencillas, compuestas por Mauro Giuliani. Publicadas en Viena hacia 1810, destacan especialmente por su viveza (no olvidemos que por entonces el compositor era un hombre joven, de tan sólo veintinueve años, y esto se refleja en su obra).” (Música y Educación, Spain, 2006).

(“Here are 62 dances for guitar, in five groups (twelve monferrinas, twelve waltzes, etc.), most of them simple, composed by Mauro Giuliani.  Published in Vienna in about 1810, they are remarkable above all for their liveliness – we should remember that the composer was a young man at that time, only 29 years old, and that is reflected in this music.”)

The Giuliani home page



eBook, Paperbound, Clothbound


Paperbound: 978-0-948607-87-5
Clothbound: 978-0-948607-88-2