Jaime Bosch: Works for Guitar

with an introduction by Brian Jeffery


A collection of eighteen works for solo guitar, to mark the centenary of the death of Jaime (Jacques) Bosch (1826-1895), known as "le roy de la guitare".  All in reprints of their original editions.

76 pages. First published by Tecla in 1995.

Paperbound TECLA 0322
Price 24.00 euros / or 20.40 UK pounds / or 30.00 US dollars


"There are several little gems in this facsimile collection that are well worth playing. In particular I liked Brimborion, Duettino, Meditation, Etoiles et fleurs ... several of the shorter and easier items towards the end of the volume are also very effective ... there is much to simply enjoy in this volume, and it’s a must for anyone purporting to be interested in the music of its century. A centenary well worth marking." (Classical Guitar, December 1996).

Bosch was a well-known guitarist in late nineteenth century Paris, a contemporary of Coste and a friend of the painter Edouard Manet. A Catalan born in Barcelona, his works show strong Spanish influence. This edition will be indispensable to anyone interested in the history of the guitar at that period. With a preface by Brian Jeffery.

The title-page of Plainte moresque, op. 85


The complete preface page 1 (pdf)
The complete preface page 2 (pdf)

An article on Jaime Bosch (1826-1895) and the guitar in Paris at the end of the 19th century.

This book presents 18 pieces, all in reprints of the original editions.

Contents (the numbers refer to opus numbers):

10. Duettino
11. Brimborion, romance sans paroles (see page 1 of the music)
12. Etoiles et fleurs, rêverie
13. Celia, jota-valse
14. Fantaisie Dramatique, sur un opéra de l’auteur
15. Souvenir de Barcelone, valse-dialogue
16. Retraite espagnole
17. Allegro de sonate
18. Méditation
19. Ballade
85. Plainte moresque, mélodie (dedicated to the painter Edouard Manet) (see page 1 of the music)
88. La Rose, valse
89. Six pièces faciles
91. Au son des cloches, mazurka
92. Venise
93. Les échos
94. Cello
--  Dix pièces faciles (see no. 7, Soledad, complete, page 1page 2 )

To order this item, you can use the easy PayPal buttons below if you wish.  The low-cost shipping on this PayPal cart includes Priority airmail shipping to you worldwide.  If you have a PayPal account (easy, worldwide, and free), you can choose whether to pay in euros or pounds or dollars worldwide.

Paperbound TECLA 0322:

Pay by PayPal in euros:
24.00 euros

or pay by PayPal in UK pounds:
20.40 UK pounds

or pay by PayPal in US dollars:
30.00 US dollars

Or you can order it from most music shops and dealers worldwide. It depends which you feel more comfortable with.

Tecla home page