How to order / Cómo pedir / Comment commander

Shops and dealers click here

Consider getting the clothbound.

The complete Preface to this book

Rob MacKillop has just made a video of four of Giuliani's Monferrine dances, from this book. Have a look!

More about Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829), and more titles by him

Another book of easy guitar pieces, NEW JUNE 2006:
Sor: The Sixteen Easiest Pieces for guitar

Tecla main page. 

Giuliani Dances of 1810 - from Tecla Editions

These dances were the first easy pieces which Giuliani published when he came to Vienna as a young man.  He wrote them to be easy in the sense that much of the time you only have to play a single melodic line and the occasional open bass string.  Most of the time they are in or near the first position, but sometimes the melodic lines sing out high up on the strings, where the frets are closer together so that you don't have to stretch the hands as much as you would if they were in the first position (and it's fun).

Mauro Giuliani:

Dances of 1810

Five sets of lively dances from Vienna, for guitar, most of them easy

edited by Brian Jeffery

NEW PUBLICATION JUNE 2006. Here are five sets of dances for guitar by Giuliani, 62 dances in all, most of them easy.  They are actual dance music, from the Vienna which was just as crazy about dancing in 1810 as it was later in the time of Strauss and Lehar. They are full of life: Giuliani was a young man of 29, who had just burst onto the Vienna music scene. They're not boring: they should be played with rhythm and great vivacity.

MAY 2012 Rob MacKillop has just made a video of four of Giuliani's Monferrine dances, from this book. Have a look!

This is a completely new edition, re-engraved, of Giuliani's sets of dances opp. 12, 21, 23, 24 and 33.  Most of them are easy to play and will be useful for students.  Newly edited by Brian Jeffery direct from the original editions.  No fingering has been added.  36 pages.

Paperbound TECLA 0395
Price 19.00 euros / or 14.00 UK pounds / or 25.00 US dollars / or 2600 Japanese yen
ISBN 978-0-948607-87-5 

Clothbound in handsome new black and gold TECLA 0396
Price 33.00 euros / or 25.00 UK pounds / or 46.00 US dollars / or 4600 Japanese yen
ISBN 978-0-948607-88-2

Giuliani's own idea about easy pieces:

When I began work on this book, I was setting out to make a book of easy pieces by Giuliani from works such as his op. 50.  But I soon discovered that that wasn’t Giuliani’s idea at all. Those pieces such as op. 50 and so on are from later in his career and my guess is that publishers offered him money to make pieces like that and it was a way to make a living so he did it. But he appeared on the scene in Vienna in 1808 and right at that brilliant beginning, when he wanted to write for beginners, he wrote dances. “Schneller! Schneller!” the young people called in that Vienna that was crazy about dancing (Johann Strauss was six years old then) and they wanted to dance. So Giuliani composed dances for those beginners who also wanted to dance – not in the boring way that is usual today where the poor beginner is told to stay way down at that first position where the frets are far apart anyway which is more difficult than higher up, but with a totally different concept. He put the beginner’s fingers high up, around the twelfth fret, where the frets are closer together and therefore easier. He added lots of open strings in the bass. And he gave them the hot-from-the-dance-floor dances that they had danced till 2 a.m. the night before.

So my book of easy pieces by Giuliani consists of those pieces.  It is what he himself did in his brilliant beginning in Vienna, not what the publishers later on persuaded him to do. It’s called Dances of 1810.

Read the complete Preface
or see a sample page of music (page 7, with Waltzes 1, 2 and 3 from 12 Waltzes op. 21) (pdf)  

Review 2006: "Giuliani, Mauro: Dances of 1810. Five sets of lively dances from Vienna for guitar, most of them easy. Londres: Tecla Editions, 2006, 23 x 30,5 cm, 27 págs.
He aquí sesenta y dos danzas para guitarra, agrupadas en cinco tipos (doce monferrinas, doce valses, etc.), la mayoría de ellas sencillas, compuestas por Mauro Giuliani. Publicadas en Viena hacia 1810, destacan especialmente por su viveza (no olvidemos que por entonces el compositor era un hombre joven, de tan sólo veintinueve años, y esto se refleja en su obra)." ( Música y Educación, Spain, 2006).  
("Here are 62 dances for guitar, in five groups (twelve monferrinas, twelve waltzes, etc.), most of them simple, composed by Mauro Giuliani.  Published in Vienna in about 1810, they are remarkable above all for their liveliness - we should remember that the composer was a young man at that time, only 29 years old, and that is reflected in this music.")

To order this book, you can use the easy PayPal buttons below if you wish.  The low-cost shipping on this PayPal cart includes Priority airmail shipping to you worldwide.  If you have a PayPal account (easy, worldwide, and free), you can choose whether to pay in euros or pounds or dollars worldwide.

Read about PayPal. (You can set up a PayPal account from most countries worldwide using your own credit card.)

Giuliani: Dances of 1810 paperbound TECLA 0395:

Pay by PayPal in euros:
19.00 euros

or pay by PayPal in UK pounds:
14.00 UK pounds

or pay by PayPal in US dollars:
25.00 US dollars

or pay by PayPal in Japanese yen:
2600 Japanese yen


Giuliani: Dances of 1810 clothbound TECLA 0396:

Pay by PayPal in euros:
33.00 euros

or pay by PayPal in UK pounds:
25.00 UK pounds

or pay by PayPal in US dollars:
46.00 US dollars

or pay by PayPal in Japanese yen:
4800 Japanese yen

Or you can use our Order Form by credit card worldwide.

Or you can order it from most music shops and dealers worldwide.
It depends which you feel more comfortable with.

Shops and dealers follow this link.

Teachers worldwide who may wish to order multiple copies of this title for their students: send us an email (the email address is at the foot of the Tecla main page.)

Tecla main page.

Copyright 2006 by Tecla Editions. Errors and omissions excepted.